Thread: I-S12077

Sex
    Y-DNA
    I2A2A1B2A1
    mtDNA
    J1C5

I-S12077

Hello all,

I have recently had my Y Chromosome tested with Britains DNA and I was told I was I-S12077 which belongs to the 'S390' subtype of the I-S24 group. I have done some digging and I think this is closely linked to the I2A2A haplogroup. But I cannot find any particular information on I-S12077.
    I understand basic genetics and inheritance but I am new to this and would appreciate any help in deciphering these results. I have always believed that my Paternal line (due to my surname Fraser) would be of Norman or some form of Scottish Heritage. But having searched for I2a2 online, I see that it is highly prevalent in the Balkans and eastern europe.
    There was a small chance that my Paternal line could instead be that of Jewish man of Central/Eastern European Heritage. I am unsure if this fits better in with the results than the Fraser name.
    Basically if someone could explain to me more information about what my results mean and help me interpret them I would be very grateful!
    I can copy and paste the markers which I tested positive for if that will help.

Regards,
    Joel

Registered Users
    Sex

Hi Joel, Not sure if you already know this but S12077 can be found in the YFULL y-chromsome tree here http://www.yfull.com/tree/I-CTS1977/ . It occurs at the same branch point as I-CTS1977 and is downstream of I-Z161>I-L801>CTS1977. It is quite an old SNP with estimated TMRCA at 3400 ybp. Part of the text available from Eupedia for the I-Z161 subclade (TMRCA 9700ybp) is as follows:
    “I2-Z161 is thought to have been propagated around Europe by the Danish Vikings (Britain, Normandy, Sicily), the Swedish Vikings (Baltic, Russia, Ukraine), the Goths (Moldova, Balkans, Italy, south-west France, Spain), the Suebi (Portugal and Galicia), the Lombards (attested by a hotspot in Campobasso, Molise), and the Franks (Rhineland, Belgium).”