Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mysterious Italian/Greek percentage

Registered Users
    Sex

Mysterious Italian/Greek percentage

Hi! I'm from Northern Spain, I took an autosomal test and was surprised to get a 23% Italian/Greek. I've been working on my tree for the past 12 years and never came across an Italian/Greek ancestor, so I assumed this is due to the history and migration patterns between these two countries, as Sicily and a large area of Italy mainland, was part of the Crown of Aragon, and later in the 16th and 17th Century during the Spanish Empire era. However, people keep telling me that percentage is too high and has to be due to having relatively recent Italian and Greek Ancestors. These are my results. Thanks!

Africa 2%
    Low Confidence Region
    Africa North 2%

Europe 97%
    Iberian Peninsula 59%
    Italy/Greece 23%
    Europe West 8%
    Scandinavia 5%
    Low Confidence Region

West Asia < 1%
    Low Confidence Region
    Middle East < 1%
    Caucasus < 1%

Registered Users
    Sex
    Ethnicity
    Italian Slavic Jew
    Y-DNA
    E-V12* Sinai Egypt
    mtDNA
    I5a Levantine

Italy Italy Sicily Poland Ukraine Israel Star of David
    Not too shocking, lot's of Spanish people come back with Italian/Greek, it is on the higher side..

You probably do have a recent Italian ancestor. Do any if your Spanish surnames have an Italian variant?
    Jtest - Evil twin phase
    AJ + Serbian + South_Italian_&_Sicilian + Ukrainian-Russian @ 5.893190

McDonald
    Most likely fit is 68% (+- 11.8%) Europe (various subcontinents)
    and 32% (+- 11.8%) Mideast (various subcontinents)

Hungary 0.7479 Jewish 0.2521
    Romania 0.9359 Jewish 0.0641
    Germany 0.6305 Sephardic 0.3695
    Hungary 0.7310 Sephardic 0.2690
    Poland 0.5583 Sephardic 0.4417

Eurogenes K13
    Algerian_Jewish + Bulgarian + East_Sicilian + La_Brana-1 @ 5.135429

Registered Users
    Sex